My WaterColor Supplies

The purpose for this page is to keep an updated information of all the color supplies I have that I am currently using in my painting.

Colors/Colours

Since I live in India, the most common and accessible artist quality watercolors are by Kokuyo Camlin and I have these colors in my collection.(Brought from ItsyBitsy.in and Camel Art Centre)

Yellows:DSC_1377.jpg

Permanent Yellow, Chrome Yellow Hue, Lemon Yellow, Gamboge Hue, Indian Yellow

Earth:DSC_1378.jpg

Sepia, Burnt Umber, Raw Umber, Raw Sienna, Burnt Sienna, Naples Yellow, Indian Red

Green:DSC_1380.jpg

Olive Green, Terre Verte, Sap Green, Viridian Hue, Hooker’s Green Deep, Hooker’s Green, Camlin Green, Emerald Green, Permanent Green Light, Chrome Green Light Hue

Purple:dsc_1381

Mauve, Magenta, Violet, Purple

B&W: DSC_1382.jpg

Chinese White, Ivory Black, Lamp Black, Payne’s Black

Blue: DSC_1383.jpg

Indigo, Prussian Blue, French Ultramarine, Ultramarine Blue, Permanent Blue, Cerulean Blue, Cobalt Blue Hue, Camlin Blue

Red: dsc_1384

Rose Madder Hue, Vermillion Hue, Crimson Lake, Scarlet Lake, Carmine

*Colors in bold are must-have in you palette

There a lot of colors offered by other international brands which I would love to have, but they are hard to get in India(most of the websites have them out-of-stock) and they are bloody expensive (about ₹3000/tube) as compare to Camlin(₹55-₹65/tube). So, I have decided to play around with these colors first, I mean they do contain all the core colors, but sometime in the future I might invest M-Graham or Winsor & Newton Cotman.

Mediums

Even in case of watercolor paintings you need some mediums for certain effects, and I own the following few.(Brought from CreativeHands.in)

Masking Fluid: Great in case you want to do a wash painting with miniature details of lighter colors. Darker colors can be layered over but not lighter colors, in which case this comes handy.DSC_1413.jpg

White Ink: Although there is a Chinese white in the color box, but that paint is neither opaque nor made for fine details, in which case you need to use white ink. And when applied appropriately, it make the painting come to life.

Brushes

The tools of putting colors on paper, brushes are much in need. They can be made of natural hair, synthetic or mix(mimic) and everybody seems to have their preference. But here is my set.

Camlin Brushes (Classics)dsc_1292

I seem to use Round 4,6,8 and Flat 10,8 only. Others I might have used but only because I have them, there seem to be not much need of them.

Arora Brushes (Special)dsc_1293

Most important brush in this collection is the Rigger(far-left), Angular(third-from-left), bristle(second-from right) and the fan(far-right). These produce some amazing effect and I seem to use the rest from time to time too, when the occasion arises.

Filbert Brushes

DSC_1396.jpgThere doesn’t seem to be any available in stores or online by local manufacturers so I had to buy them over ebay.in which were delivered from Hong kong. First I was quiet spectacle about their quality, but once I started using them, I don’t seem to keep them down. Filbert brush can offer precision as well as cover large area so they are easy to paint with. And the fibre seem to hold more water than both Camlin and Arora brushes. I also love their long slim smooth handles, make me feel all professional.

Wash Brushes

Used to wet the canvas or paper or paint over large surface with little color. Wash brushes are the background tools in case of watercolor paintings. I have 5 in my collection.

DSC_1395.jpg

The Camlin ones(shown right) are very soft and can be only used for wash effect while the Arora one(shown left) resembles a rake brush and hence can be used for other effects too or simply painting.

Mop Brushes

DSC_1365.jpgOk, so they are not technically mop brushes but these are the closest I could find that would do the trick. The problem with these brushes is, though they mop-up quite well, every time I use them, their hair falls. It either gets on my painting or gets stuck in a paint, at this rate they won’t last long. But was else is to be expected from local manufacturers.

Paper

DSC_1303.jpg

I completed my Cartridge Sketchbook(far-right), although I couldn’t lift any watercolor off it for special effects and the paper curled like a currency note. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND BUYING IT EVER. So now I have Daler-Rowney Mixed Media books in 300gsm, perfect for watercolors. I look forward to creating more dramatic art work.

Also I bought myPAPERCLIP Notebook (the red one) which is only 100gsm but I would be using it for light washes and sketching mostly. Hopefully I would have a awesome journal to share with you after some time.

I hope this helps you if you are starting in watercolors or want to checkout what supplies you can get out of the Indian market.

With warm regards

CAP

Chitrakaar Artist Peintre

Leave a Reply

