Art Lesson 001 : Cherry Blossom & Mount Fuji

For my initiation, I choose a simple layering painting by Ekaterina Smirnova : Step by step watercolor tutorial: Cherry Blossom and Mount Fuji. I have never been to Japan but have the fortune of seeing a Cheery Blossom in full bloom in Paris and it is utterly spectacular. Anyway, here is my painting :

dsc_1311

Camlin Colors: Prussian Blue, Carmine, China White and Ivory Black.

Overall: The pink land was a disaster, I couldn’t get the color flowing and the paper kept drying too quickly. The lines are too harsh. This is when I did more research and realized that one should not use Camlin’s student grade and the paper I was working on was the wrong type. 😦 😦

Need to practice on my watercolor flow.

-CAP(ChitrakaarArtistPeintre)

Leave a Reply

