Sampling brushes and paints

DSC_1292.jpgSo now that I had basic supplies, I started trying different techniques with my brushes and paints. Here is my brush collection :

 

I went for synthetic brushes as they work in multiple mediums, but if you only want to practice in watercolors, I would highly recommend natural hair or mix brushes. Taking some paints I first tried different brushes strokes.

DSC_1307.jpg

The Camlin round brushes don’t have pointy edges, so for getting fine line you need to switch to a smaller size. Being such a case, I use almost all the brushes from the round set. The Camlin flat brushes have much less use, after painting more than 20 paintings, I still have only used the sizes 8 & 10. Here are some samples of different painting techniques:

DSC_1308.jpg

  • Wet-on-dry(top-left)
  • Dry-on-wet(top-right)
  • Wet-on-wet(bottom-left)
  • Dry-on-dry(bottom-right)

I soon realised that I need a wash brush and some other brushes for special effects. Also, the paper I was using(Cartridge paper 140gsm) was a wrong base for watercolors, what I needed was a cotton base paper made for watercolor medium with at least 300gsm. So I ordered the following from Flipkart:

DSC_1295.jpg         DSC_1293.jpgDSC_1301.jpg

A normal paper curl when water is added, one needs a paper with cotton or wood pulp in the mix so that it can not only absorb water but also show the true color of the watercolor pigment. As these were delivered later on, I thought of using the Cartridge sketchbook for practice and experimentation. Also because the Daler-Rowney paper is more expensive and I wanted to have more finished-pieces in it.

-CAP(ChitrakaarArtistPeintre)

Leave a Reply

